Positive Review - Omeida, Yangshuo

• 0 replies
Positive Review - Omeida, Yangshuo
« on: July 19, 2011, 11:08:30 AM »
I worked in Omeida for 6 months in 2010, and I have just received my Z visa invite to head over for another contract beginning Oct 2011.

Omeida is one of the biggest/busiest training centres operating in Yangshuo, and is geared towards teaching adult students in small classes. The contract states class sizes can be up to 12 students, but in my time there from December - June 2010, the average was more like 6 per class. Its likely to be closer to 12 in the summer months though I would think.

Omeida run classes from complete beginner up to advanced students, with Chinese teachers taking classes up to the Pre-Int level. FTs takes those and above. All classes run for 90 minutes, with the standard time table running from 8.30am until 16.10 with the usual loooong lunch/sleep time at midday. No classes at weekends, no classes in the evenings. The only additional duties are being expected to attend a 'social night' once a week, where activities can range from KTV/Games/Speechs/Free talks/BBQ nights with free beer and peanuts laid on. Teachers are also asked to attend a lunchtime meeting once a fortnight to dicuss moving students between grades, problems and any related issues. This is normally a 30 minute meeting and is conducted in English.