Some Funny Experiences Cows and Monkeys in Nepal

• 3 replies
Some Funny Experiences Cows and Monkeys in Nepal
« on: September 07, 2007, 10:18:57 PM »
I have had some funny experience with animals in Nepal that I would like to share with you.

First: In Nepal with its predominant Hinduist culture, it is quite common to see cows in the streets. They are peaceful and even in the narrow, crowded streets like those in Kathmandu with its notorious traffic jams, nobody feels really bothered by them. But sometimes, they can be quite a nuisance when walking into the shops and eventually messing up things there. I observed such a situation - the shop owner became really annoyed; he took a bucket full of water and threw it the cow - the cow did not like it and run  away. Now, you may know the way of how to get rid of cows eventually "bothering" you in Kathmandu...lol.

Second: Nepal is a country with mainly two different cultures "complementing" one another - one being the Hindu culture, and the other one being the Tan-Buddhist related one (remember, there are native ethnic groups with a Mongol look and a Buddhist-Lamaist culture and native languages linguistically quite closely related to Tan, in addition to the large genuine Tan refugee community in Nepal). In Kathmandu, there are some famous Hinduist and Buddhist-Lamaist temples.