One-To-One Tutoring Training?

• 6 replies

Ivyman

One-To-One Tutoring Training?
« on: June 09, 2017, 04:53:13 AM »
Hi Everyone,

I just think I got a job that is suited to my personality.  I am a live-in residential tutor for a family.  I will tutor in the afternoon and evenings for other clients.

While I am enthusiastic about it, I realize I have little formal training.  Even my CELTA, etc. seems off:

Can any of you recommend books, courses, keywords, online learning management programs, etc.?

(I know I asked a similar question in the past; but, I simply want any more logical answers, etc.)

AMonk

Re: One-To-One Tutoring Training?
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2017, 12:35:38 AM »
... I am a live-in residential tutor for a family.  I will tutor in the afternoon and evenings for other clients.

Not to be a wet blanket, but this sounds an awful lot like a number of scams that I've seen.  Are you certain that :-
1.  It's for real, on the up-and-up
2.  You will remain legal - with proper Visa, Residence Permit, etc
3.  Pay is commensurate, and will be paid on-time, every time?

I do NOT want you to become another "former-laowai-with-a-war-story" :wtf:
Moderation....in most things...

Ivyman

« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2017, 03:07:24 AM »
Yes, I'm living with the family right now.  We have a housecleaner.

My question was concerning how do I best teach.  Any insight?

old34

« Reply #3 on: June 11, 2017, 08:43:04 AM »
We have a housecleaner.

My question was concerning how do I best teach.  Any insight?

You're the I[size=78%]vy league grad and been playing that card for a few years and positions now while bouncing around China. And you still haven't figured out how to teach? Maybe ask the housecleaner. She's prolly more clued in than you.[/size]
Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit; wisdom is knowing not to put it in a fruit salad. - B. O'Driscoll.
TIC is knowing that, in China, your fruit salad WILL come with cherry tomatoes AND all slathered in mayo. - old34.