Hunan City University

• 3 replies

DWA

Hunan City University
« on: May 07, 2008, 05:42:19 PM »
Hi everyone !  I'm a newbie here....and sorry for the long post!....and have a review of my current employer: Hunan City University, Yiyang City, Hunan Province.  The information on job sent to me were and are correct and have not been the subject of any argument or discussion.  However, that's where the good part stops.  The only lady in the Foreign Exchange Department who spoke English (besides the Director) left the same day I arrived last August.  The replacement is the daughter of two teachers who lost her job in Southern China for some "unknown" reason (I was told it was none of my business) and speaks very poor English and understands less. The other person (who is responsible for apt. maint. and generally getting things done) speaks or understands no English.  So much for communication!  The pictures of the apartment sent me were of a nice, good looking and modern facility at their new campus site on the other side of the city. Imagine my utter surprise upon arrival to be housed in a 50 year old teacher apartment building with so many coats of paint the windows will not close. I understand (and did before I arrived) that the Chinese idea and concept of "clean" is quite different than that of Americans.  However, the apartment had been slightly cleaned from the previous tenant who must have been a real HOG !!  Dirt and filth everywhere.....the kitchen was so bad it was almost a month before I could use it, the bed sheets and blankets had not been washed....nor did they offer to have them washed or purchase new ones, the air conditioner was broken (with Aug & Sept temps very high and high humidity for a newbie is awful to say the least).  And....the apt had roaches...several dead ones on the kitchen floor and in the dining room.  Upon seeing all this, I was ready for the return flight to Beijing and home. I was assured that things would be made right.  When asked w