Looking for activies similar to the Last Ten People on Earth

• 8 replies

kcanuck

• Canadian Stop Sign
Looking for activies similar to the Last Ten People on Earth
« on: April 25, 2007, 02:39:50 PM »
I've been searching lateral thinking stuff and getting lots of the two minute mystery type things and logic puzzles which are good.  But I'd really like to do more of the ones like Last Ten People on Earth and Desert Island, since the students seem to enjoy them.  Does anyone have any good links to more of these?  xie xie ni
I am still learning. Michelangelo

gonzo

Re: Looking for activies similar to the Last Ten People on Earth
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2007, 09:52:36 AM »
You might like to base activities around  "If The World Were a Village" websites, a few of which are:
http://www.familycare.org/news/if_the_world.htm
http://www.acblack.com/globalvillage/
http://www.gdrc.org/uem/1000-village.html
to give some Global Education, which Chinese children desperately lack, then base your ten [or however many] "survivors" on the representations found within The Village.This would require them to question some long-held beliefs about who/what is important!
« Last Edit: April 26, 2007, 09:58:46 AM by gonzo »
RIP Phil Stephens.
No static at all.

babala

« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2007, 11:02:55 PM »
I had a great one before. It was fairly advanced though. Nothing you do with young ones but with uni age or older it would work. It was called "Who gets the heart?". You get a list of patients all waiting for a heart transplant. The students imagine they are ones who decide. I don't have it anymore but if you are interested, I could look for it.