In over my head?

• 8 replies

A-Train

In over my head?
« on: August 25, 2010, 06:59:54 AM »
Don't ask how, but I'm assigned to teach a Cultural Comparison course this semester which I've never done before.  I'm getting a lot of leeway in what I can teach which, of course, has it's good and bad aspects.  Since this is new to me, I'm seeing more of the negative aspects.

I'll be leaning on Geert Hofstede heavily and I'd like to include sections on differing religions/mythologies but I'm trolling for ideas from this experienced pool of educators and world travellers.  I know this is extremely vague but that's what I'm dealt at the moment.  I will probably try to stick to Chinese culture versus American/Western Europe, (as if that really narrows anything down).

So if you've taught/taken any courses like this and sections really stood out and stuck with you, please let me know what those were.  Of course any and all wild-ass ideas and half-baked notions will be closely considered as well.

Thanks in advance for any help you might be able to lend.
"The young do not know enough to be prudent, and therefore attempt the impossible and achieve it, generation after generation.

Pearl S. Buck

Ruth

Re: In over my head?
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2010, 10:28:41 AM »
Last year was my first year teaching culture.  I was given no curriculum or criteria.  No one seemed to care what I taught, so I did what I thought the students would be interested in.  

Popular topics were:
wedding culture (they know a lot about this, but I delved into the reasons behind some of our traditions.  Homework assignment was to write about a wedding tradition from their hometown that differed from a western one.) Recommended movie: License to Wed with Robin Williams.