Windows 7?

• 19 replies
Windows 7?
« on: October 27, 2009, 04:55:57 AM »
Anyone using it?

Since I'll be leaving the land of the cheap operating systems soon, I'm wondering if I might not snag a CD before I go.  My laptop came with Vista, which I've read mean it's Win7 capable, but I'm currently running WinXP because me no likee Vista.  I have however read that Win7 is a considerable improvement on Vista, to the point of actually being good.  What say you?
when ur a roamin', do as the settled do o_0

Yoda

Re: Windows 7?
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2009, 05:19:49 AM »
I've been using the Windows 7 release candidate for about 6 months now and recently upgraded to the final release and can say it is a huge improvement over Vista. It requires less rigorous hardware and solves all of the annoying "little things" associated with Vista. I highly recommend it.

Unfortunately, in your particular situation using Win XP, there is no upgrade option to Windows 7. So you would need to do a clean install which will require you to reinstall all of your applications. But in my humble opinion this is a small price to pay for better operating system.

« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2009, 05:28:10 AM »
A clean install is no probs, for reasons of mystical superstition I prefer them.  I was wondering about drivers, tho.  Lenovo doesn't seem to have Win7 drivers officially available for my particular laptop yet.  Presumably I can use the latest Vista drivers instead?

DaDan

• Yeppers! We`be livin now!
« Reply #3 on: October 27, 2009, 07:23:38 AM »
ababababab  CooL  Thread ababababab

I've been waiting to hear more reports on W7 as I'da been thinking lots about replacing my 3 y/old Viao & was waiting until MS puts it out & Hong Kong stores will be incluing an English version of it with new computers. Already seen a ccouple  bfbfbfbfbf for W7 around forums I frequent & it seems the time is growing nearer.

In the coming weeks I'll make a thread askin about