Gradebooks

• 2 replies

old34

Gradebooks
« on: September 09, 2015, 06:50:32 AM »

That's the number of entries I have as of tonight in my AllChina Gradebook which I started catching up with updating during the 4 day holiday.

Let me backtrack... I've been teaching since 1990 and back then, I first also started using a computer. I'm self-taught, as I attended college in the late 70's and the only computer class I had used punch cards fed into a card reader (I forget the tech term for that- Fortran?)

When I finally splurged for my first computer, it was a Tandy because RadioShack was all over the Sunday newspaper supplements. This was about 1988 and there were no learning tools for using computers, So I hit up the local library and started taking out books on DOS and BASIC. That's what the Tandy ran, and with no hard drive. Just 5'¼ floppy disks. There were tandem disk drives, so I could actually run two floppies at once. and Windows came out with OFFICE  (It might not have been called that then, but they had Word). I started tinkering with Word and trying to make it work on a two floppy disk system. I figured that out on my own using library books and experimentation.