Prospective Teacher - Age consideration.

• 7 replies
Prospective Teacher - Age consideration.
« on: June 20, 2013, 10:47:46 PM »
Hello,
I am just now 70 years old. My paper qualifications are TEFL ; B.A (Russian French);
and a qualified librarian (which may well be worth nothing but who knows - not me.)
My teaching experience: No teaching position. I have been teaching English for many years just off my own bat. Sometimes I charge and sometimes for free. Always for fun, interest.

I have a lot on China and rules seem to be flexible - so to speak. guanxi etc.. if I have that pinyin right. Favours and so on.

I read also that one can have ones own "school"   of up to about 4 or 5 students.

I have very basic putonghua mandarin - teaching myself. I want to go to China and teach English (or Russian or French). I am fit and can probably pass physically as someone 50-60. I want to go for a year at least. I understand the sever climate variations which exist. I need to pay that serious attention.   

I have a strong IT background and teaching is a normal part of that job. I know I am a good teacher.
I don't want to work with students who are not really interested - especially young students.  I don't really want to "child mind either - but if that gets me there - I will do that. 

This is my first email on RCS so I hope I am sending this the best way.

What I want are comments, advice, correcting my assumptions and "facts".   

Anything - even which province, school, city.

Re: Prospective Teacher - Age consideration.
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2013, 11:17:42 PM »
I split this into its own topic so that it wouldn't get lost on a post that was 8 months old.