Teaching ESL in CHina

• 4 replies
Teaching ESL in CHina
« on: January 24, 2012, 11:17:47 AM »
Hi All,

This is my first post on here after spending yesterday browsing the forums and researching teaching. I am amped to get over to China and start teaching within the year but know all too well that tons of research, negotiating and prep work needs to be done prior to departing the USA.  Any way, below I have a breakdown of my qualifications and wondered what type of ESL University work or within the Public School System is available and, more importantly, any feedback from experiences working in those areas would be beneficial.

I have an important interview for the Hong Kong government sponsored NET initiative  upcoming and know lots of people have experience with the scheme.  Links or insight in to the program's pros/cons and any other helpful stuff for a complete newbie would be helpful and provide clarity!  The interview was set up through Teach Away which I believe is a recruiter so I'm a bit skeptical but it seems legit after researching it. Lets hope I don't fudge the interview!

Qualifications:

age 26
US Citizen with passport (no visa yet)
BA in History from renowned US University
Master of Education at Elementary and Secondary levels
2 years full time teaching experience (5th grade)
5 years assistant teaching (part time - summers) for Special Education
No CELTA/TEFL but could complete one in the 6 months time I have before wanting to leave for a secured fall position!

Cities/areas of interest:

*Hong Kong
*Beijing
Guangzhou
Tianjin
Qingdao
*Fuzhou (and other Fujian province cities)
Guangxi province
Sichuan province