doing laundry

• 11 replies

kcanuck

• Canadian Stop Sign
doing laundry
« on: August 11, 2007, 04:14:44 PM »
Stuck with a standard wachine machine that gives only adequate results. Unless I want to haul buckets of water I wash in cold and have been using Tide.  Has anyone discovered any superior local brands?  Any general laundry tips you've stumbled upon or had an ayi show you to improve laundry would be appreciated.
I am still learning. Michelangelo

George

• My view of China
Re: doing laundry
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2007, 07:04:26 PM »
Stuck with a standard wachine machine that gives only adequate results. I wash in cold and have been using Tide.
Me too. No complaints!!
The higher they fly, the fewer!    http://neilson.aminus3.com/

« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2007, 08:33:08 PM »
I always add bleach for colored clothes - sort of local Vanish. You can buy it just about anywhere in China. It is a pink bottle and it has a cat face on it. Very popular brand. I usually add 2 caps of that into the washing along with soap and a half a cap of softener (yes, together with soap). Then add softener at the last rinsing.

My ayis that I used to have always had to be taught how to wash. I had a couple of them mixing black and white as well as one of them washed my pure woolen sweater in that standard machine and it shrunk to the baby size  bibibibibi

kcanuck

• Canadian Stop Sign
« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2007, 09:39:10 PM »
I've used bleach on whites, a stronger concentration...the other stuff doesn't discolour your clothes?

AMonk

« Reply #4 on: August 11, 2007, 10:28:47 PM »
I don't know about Chinese bleach, but I would NEVER put Western bleach into a wash that wasn't all whites. aoaoaoaoao
Moderation....in most things...

kcanuck

• Canadian Stop Sign
« Reply #5 on: August 11, 2007, 10:50:17 PM »
me neither, that's why I asked, perhaps it's a very diluted solution, dunno I've never tried it.

« Reply #6 on: August 12, 2007, 02:40:51 AM »