urgent: why chinese

• 35 replies
Re: urgent: why chinese
« Reply #30 on: August 15, 2008, 09:31:03 PM »
Sorry for swinging this thread suddenly on-topic, but I thought I'd add a different perspective to why chinese (and I do mean Potonghua- what the government says is Chinese, that's Chinese).

I know it's not the best reason, and I am genuinely interested in China, Chinese culture etc. I was a history student so obviously I enjoy the wealth of information here. But honestly the motivation I draw upon when it's late and I can't figure out if I'm supposed to use tai or ba as the measure word for a laptop, or just give up and call it "ge," is the fact that so few of my kind do make the effort to learn other languages and cultures.
I hope I don't open a can of worms here, but it's pretty safe to say one cause of America's constanst global conflicts is ignorance and racism. And I figure when the time comes it'll help to have as many people familiar with the culture and able to communicate with the people. I really enjoy the company of Chinese people, and it bothers the hell out of me that a lot of my friends back home wouldn't give em the time of day, just cause they'd have to say it differently.
For me, learning Chinese is like a daily clearing of misconceptions, a constant stream of new perspectives that appear offensive to outsiders but are actually quite charming.  And maybe if enough people can make that argument effectively back home, it might just swing things away from a fight and toward a conversation. I mean, maybe.

"Nobody calls me chicken, Needles... Nobody!"

« Reply #31 on: August 15, 2008, 10:14:45 PM »
I hope I don't open a can of worms here, but it's pretty safe to say one cause of America's constanst global conflicts is ignorance and racism.