Can anyone actually recommend a school

• 51 replies
Can anyone actually recommend a school
« on: November 05, 2008, 10:23:06 AM »
I am a recent college grad searching for an ESL job in China.  I have dug up alot of dirt on certain schools, but have not seen many people boasting about any.  Does anyone have a school in mind to recommend, or what are the qualities of a qualified employer. 

AMonk

Re: Can anyone actually recommend a school
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2008, 11:20:37 AM »
Hi Roy!  Welcome to the Saloon agagagagag

First, decide on the sort of climate/geography that you might prefer.  No point in checking out (say) Harbin, if you can't stand cold weather, nor GuangDong if you hate typhoons and humidity.

Second, decide what age level of student you would be most comfortable teaching.  No point in checking out kindergartens if you can't stand the littlest ones and really want to teach adults.

Then, begin looking in our Links and the Location Specific pages for initial help.  When you've narrowed your field of search, please feel free to ask the Saloonies your specific questions.

For me?  I don't want anywhere farther north than Jinan.  I definitely do NOT want to teach anyone under 10 years of age, but I am "iffy" about being in a college/university.  However, I most certainly won't be entertaing at a language "mill" (like EF aoaoaoaoao and their ilk).

Happy hunting bfbfbfbfbf
Moderation....in most things...

decurso

• Chinese Rocks
« Reply #2 on: November 05, 2008, 12:43:37 PM »
 Sound advice. I could recommend a few schools,but what suits me may not suit you. Personally, I hate cold weather and refuse to venture north of The Great Wall. I spent two years in so called "real" China and highly recommend it, but at this point don't think any other city besides Beijing suits my personal needs. And I prefer to teach university.

Like the bunny said...decide where you want to go and then decide what kind of job suits you best. Happy hunting.