Beware of Tian He College in Guangzhou Guangdong province

• 2 replies
Beware of Tian He College in Guangzhou Guangdong province
« on: September 14, 2012, 09:30:26 AM »
Hey Everyone
I am a teacher who has just arrived in China for a year and wanted to let everyone know about a situation with a school in Guangzhou, Guandong province.
The school's name is Tian He College, but it’s not in Tian he, they just want people to think it is. Tian he being the nicest part of Guangzhou. NOT where the school is located. The school is 22 miles away from the real Tian he with no bus service or way to reach the city with out traveling 2 to 3 hours using public transportation.
They tried to get me to sign the contract before I visited the school and now I know why. Most foreigners would never work there. 
When I met them to be taken to the school they took me on a 1 hour car ride up a long mountain road to Tai he /Mao Feng Shan. The school is next to the largest trash dump in Guangdong province.  You could smell the waste the moment you got out of the car. 
I was ready to go back at that point but its so far away I didn’t see any taxis or public transportation so I had to listen, I was trapped. They brought me to the Deans office, she was an old woman who spoke horrible English who proceeded to talk with me about giving a demonstration for her and some other teachers. I told her that I wanted to go back to the city that I was not impressed with the school or location.  She told me that she had the contract I requested and I told her I was not interested but to be nice I looked at it to kill some time while she spoke in Chinese to the other teachers there.
After reading the first page I could tell this school was a total scam, nothing we had agreed on in our emails was in this contract
They told me 16 hours a week, the contract said 20+ English corner
They told me 18 weeks, the contract said 20