How Do Current Policies Restrict What We Can Do and Teach?

• 5 replies

Ivyman

How Do Current Policies Restrict What We Can Do and Teach?
« on: November 19, 2023, 09:41:26 PM »
Hi Everyone,

I am unsure about current work visas and government regulations.

1. As background, my biggest strength is high school counseling. I can help people get into universities. I can also help people with mental health, social, and emotional problems.

2. Additionally, my degree is in history. I have taught AP US History, World History, Euro History, Geography, Psychology, and many other forms of social studies. Most of my students get 5 scores.

In theory, I could also do A Level and IB.

3. I should say I have only been halfway through US Teacher License Programs (Teach Now), PGCE (ULondon), Master's in Counseling, and California State Teacher Licensing.

So, I can see why I am shuffled into English teaching a lot: the need is there, and I am not yet certified for high levels in other areas.

4. My questions are:

a. What are the rules for me to get a visa as not an English teacher, but a subject-matter expert and high school counselor.

b. How come we cannot teach AP History, Psychology, etc.? How do we work around it?
« Last Edit: November 20, 2023, 04:46:40 PM by Escaped Lunatic »

Escaped Lunatic

• Finding new ways to conquer the world
    • EscapedLunatic.com
Re: How Do Current Policies Restrict What We Can Do and Teach?
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2023, 05:01:18 PM »
Some classes have more than just "possess a teaching license" or "have a TFL certificate" as a requirement to be an instructor.