Spring 2011

• 6 replies
Spring 2011
« on: October 08, 2010, 09:08:20 PM »
Hey everyone. I'm new to ESL and new to this forum. I am another recent grad who is not really enthused about my options in the American job market at the moment. My interest in China is learning the language, and gaining valuable experience in the ESL field. I'm not entirely sure that ESL (or education in general) is what I want to do career wise, but it seems like a start. In any case, I would like to have a job in China that will help me land another, better job in the ESL field should I choose to stay in it.  I need to live, but other than that, money is not terribly important to me. Given my priorities I am primarily interested in university positions, but am willing to consider anything that looks like the right city and work schedule. I have a 120-hour in-class TEFL certificate. I have like 8 hours observed practice teaching ESL to small classes of adults. I want to land my first job in Spring 2011, but it's really just a matter of saving up the $$ to move to China. So with all the basic get to know me stuff out of the way my question is: when do the jobs start? It doesn't seem to be as seasonal in China, but is there a time of the year when we can expect to see a huge intake for the spring? I noticed the ads on here look a little dusty ATM (no offense intended). I just don't want to miss out on opportunities because I don't know when/where they are advertised. Thanks to everyone sorry such a long post I just thought I'd give you the scoop on myself and where I'm coming from. From Arizona BTW.

Re: Spring 2011
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2010, 09:50:43 PM »
Here's a quick primer:

A) Location wise:
- hot and miserable in the south
- hot and miserable in summer, cold and interesting in the middle
- hot and miserable in the short summer, reaaly cold and miserable in the north (that's where I am and I love it!)
- how much "foriegn" interaction do you want?