What the heck is going on with teaching jobs??

• 20 replies
What the heck is going on with teaching jobs??
« on: June 13, 2010, 03:56:00 PM »
I have a BS degree in teaching.  I have two years of teaching experience in China and many years more in the USA.  I have applied to over 20 different schools in the south of China, Guangdong, Fujian.  Mostly Universities.  I have replies from maybe 5 of them but nothing more.  What is going on?  Do they all wait until the last minute to hire teachers?  They go on summer break at the end of June.  I want to make my decision and start making plans.  You know?  Anyone shed some light on this please?     asasasasas   

Re: What the heck is going on with teaching jobs??
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2010, 04:41:53 PM »
I only worked at one school out of three (all in Guangdong) that planned ahead. My boss was very westernized and efficient. I'd tell you apply there, but it's probably too late for the next school year.
"I don't need to compromise my principles, because they don't have the slightest bearing on what happens to me anyway." -Calvin
3 greatest things in the world in one website: http://www.boozefoodtravel.com
http://www.TotalTaipei.com
My Taipei travel guide: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B073RSMVG

Stil

• ChangshaNotes
« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2010, 04:45:51 PM »
With 2 years teaching experience in China you should know, yeah, many wait until the last minute to hire teachers and hey the end of June is more than 2 weeks away. thats loads of time here. You really don't know that?

20 schools applied to is not many and 5 out 20 responses is not bad at all. If they've filled their need or are just not interested in you, they won't bother to respond with a 'thanks, no thanks' kind of email.

Some schools will not have a full-time person for doing the hiring. They will just have a teacher doing it that right now is really busy getting ready for exams.